Nate Schuster had quite the debut season for the Menomonee Falls boys basketball team. The MFHS junior led his team with 16.4 points per game and scored 20 or more points a game on seven occasions. After a strong season, Schuster was named first-team All-Greater Metro Conference.

Senior Matt Henningsen was second on the team with 12.3 ppg and was named to the second team. Falls seniors Justin Gruber and Cross Wilson were honorable mention. Gruber averaged 12.0 ppg, and Wilson scored 10.4 ppg.

Falls finished third in the GMC with a 9-5 record.

Hamilton was fifth this season at 6-8. Senior Jordan Smith earned second-team status after averaging 12.4 ppg. Smith shot 73.4 percent (47-for-64) from the free-throw line.

Senior Shamar Newman was named to the honorable-mention team. Newman contributed 5.6 ppg.

Brookfield Central sophomore Gage Malensek was the GMC Player of the Year. Brookfield Central won the league with a 12-2 record. Its coach, Dan Wandrey, was named Coach of the Year.

Gruber, Henningsen and Wilson were GMC scholar athletes. To earn such an honor, a senior letter winner must have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

Hamilton's Dylan Gissal, Jake Kessenich and Smith were also scholar athletes.

Greater Metro boys basketball

First team: Gage Malensek (POY), so., Brookfield Central; Cole Nau, so., Brookfield Central; Patrick Cartier, jr., Brookfield East; Ryan Coffey, sr., Marquette; Nate Schuster, jr., Menomonee Falls; Ryan Haertel, sr., West Allis Hale

Second team: Sam Rohde, sr., Brookfield Central; Jake Graf, sr., Brookfield East; Jordan Smith, sr., Hamilton; Matt Henningsen, sr., Menomonee Falls; Jalen Holley, jr., Wauwatosa East

Honorable mention: Andres Peralta-Werns, jr., Brookfield Central; Chris Post, sr., Brookfield Central; Shamar Newman, sr., Hamilton; Justin Novotny, sr., Marquette; Justin Gruber, sr., Menomonee Falls; Cross Wilson, sr., Menomonee Falls; Blake Kratzer, sr., Wauwatosa East; Elijah Flenorl, sr., Wauwatosa East; Dane Mikkelson, sr., Wauwatosa East; Kurt Mlachnik, sr., West Allis Central; Paysharne Jelks, sr., West Allis Central; Jaren Welsch, sr., West Allis Central; Brandon Barr, sr., West Allis Hale