The papers are in, and the candidates are ready for the spring election on Tuesday, April 4. Candidates had to get their paperwork in to their respective municipalities by 5 p.m. on Jan. 3 to qualify for the ballot.

Few candidates are running opposed this election season; an indicator that perhaps citizens in Menomonee Falls, Germantown, Sussex and the surrounding areas are satisfied with their representatives.

Here is the full listing of candidates running for the spring election in local communities.

Village of Butler

Village President Patricia Tiarks will run unopposed for re-election.

Four candidates, including incumbents Paul Kasdorf and William Benjamin and challengers Mark Holdmann and Thomas Sardina, will run for three open seats.

Village of Germantown

Four incumbents are running unopposed for re-election, including David Baum (District 1), Rick Miller (District 2), Robert Warren (District 3) and Jeffrey Hughes (District 4).

Village of Lannon

Incumbent Village President David F. Nagler will be challenged by Jerry Newman.

Seven candidates have filed for three open trustee seats, so there will be a primary Feb. 21 to winnow the field to six candidates. Incumbents Tom Gudex, Janice Manor-Schmidt and Ron Dutcher will be challenged by Tony Povletich, Alex Gizelbach, Steve Reek and Patrick D. Yates.

Town of Lisbon

Town Chairman Joseph Osterman and Supervisor No. 4 Rebecca Plotecher are running unopposed. Marc. R. Moonen will run unopposed for the Supervisor No. 2 seat that Hannah Heinritz is vacating.

Village of Menomonee Falls

For Seat 1, incumbent Katie Kress will be challenged by Paul Broesch. Incumbent Chris Smolik will face Randy Van Alstyne in a race for Seat 2. David Glasgow will be unopposed for re-election to Seat 3.

Village of Sussex 

In the village of Sussex, incumbent Village President Greg Goetz and incumbent trustees Lee Uecker, Tim Dietrich and Matt Carran are all running unopposed.

Germantown School Board 

President Bob Soderberg and Clerk Lester Spies have no challengers in the spring election.

Hamilton School Board

Jay Jones will run unopposed for the village of Lannon spot on the school board, while at-large incumbent Michael Hyland will face Joseph Mirasola.

Menomonee Falls School Board

Treasurer Mark Nadolski and Vice President Ron Bertieri will be challenged by Lowell Kellogg in a race for two seats.

Read or Share this story: http://www.mynorthwestnow.com/story/news/2017/01/09/candidates-gear-up-spring-election/96117816/